Autumn Flora

This will be my first post, simply because I want to start blogging on a good note, and I love pretty much everything about this painting. I made it a couple of years ago (I was 13). I really didn’t have any specific motivation for this painting, other than the colors of fall I could see from my window and being bored on a day sick at home. I started with a sketch of fruits and veggies (that I hadn’t really arranged but thought looked nice in the first place), namely, cabbage, a darkened banana, prunes, apples and oranges , and progressively started water-coloring each veggie/fruit. I then painted the bowl, with acrylic paint. I don’t usually mix paints, but I wanted to try something new, and I thought the bowl deserved a particular kind a texture anyway. And that bowl took me for EVER! And I just realized I could never find the right color because it was the end of the day, and the light kept changing. Duh.

Once I was done I thought something was missing but didn’t really know what… that’s when my brother spilt my paintbrush-rinsing water on it. In any other circumstance I would have been mad, but I was too tired and thankful for a diversion. It turned out to be a good thing after all since the water was dark ochre, just the right color for the background. And I just spread it around. (Like the song! Spread it all around…love it).

I was really proud of this painting when it was done, and even had it on my wall for a while (thanks to patafix!!), but lost it during the move. I just found it while emptying old stuff from a box on another day sick at home! What a coincidence…

So yeah, the painting itself is small (about 20 by 12 cm), but it still took me a couple of days to finish it off completely. And yes, I am a perfectionist. Not sure whether I should be proud of that or not!

This entry was posted in Non-IB work. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Autumn Flora

  1. Madz says:

    Hey liiix! I know you’re just a blogger-starter, but I really like what you’ve done so far! You’ve clearly got an artistic talent, and I’d love to see more of your work. Autumn Flora is gorgeous, and very natural. You’ve got the Arcimboldo touch. I’ll be checking up on you, and I predict a beautiful blogging future. Good luck!

  2. Fabienne says:

    Superbe! J’adore ton mélange de couleurs. Tu as un don avec beaucoup de sensibilité.
    A quand la première exposition ?

  3. lukas says:

    wow this is rly good…

Leave a Reply

